The Turn of Things

August has been a long month of monotonous weather. Sunny and hot, sunny and hot, the occasional humid and very occasional torrential rainstorm, followed by more sunny and hot. Were it not for the lack of water we would be up to our eyeballs in sweet corn and tomatoes.

The leaves on the trees are turning, not from the sudden snap of cold temperatures at night, but the stress of our weather patterns. Those trees that are well-established with deep root systems are holding firm. Those that are younger or impaired or more delicate are showing signs of danger or have succumbed already. Our white birch took a hit and they seem to number the most in terms of standing skeletons dotting our landscape.

But there are other signs that the season changes. The geese have returned. I noticed them last week – a flock clustered at the far end of the parking lot, wing-weary and barely moving for those drivers who like to park far away. Over the next few days I saw more; a flock in the local farmer’s field, many flocks clustered in groups on the golf course. In spite of temperatures consistently in the 90’s and the high whine of cicada, the geese have started their travel through this place to warmer places.

I think that winter is upon us, creeping with a grim inevitability that will seek to catch us unawares.

I do not view these turns and changes with regret or concern. No, not me. For me it puts an extra spring in my step. I find my nose turning to the sky and scenting the wind, searching for that slight change. I look at my camping gear and dust off my backpack. I reseal my boots and check my water purifier. Time to head out to and look for the changes, to see if I can be the first to detect the turn of things.

But while I am packing, I leave you another chapter for The Far Reach – Giving Way.

TFR 1-11086683_10202615483863142_130170048_n (2)

6 thoughts on “The Turn of Things

  1. I thought it was just me that was seeing the season change so early. *sigh* I think I’ve been seeing signs since the middle of July…just barely into summer :’)
    The good part of the lack of rain? Cantaloupes thrive in dry weather :D. The wetter it is the more scrawny and dry they are.
    I will admit to being anxious for fall and it’s vibrant colors and cooler weather although our summer has had plenty of those cooler days. Today is not promising to be one of those, it’s already hot, 4 fans blowing in the livingroom, and only going to get worse as the day grows longer (100+ with humidex)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ugh – try to stay cool. I was wondering about cantaloupes – we are seeing an abundance! Saw your post for Fan Expo. Looks like it will be wonderful!! Hope you have a great time – want photos!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my! I love the white birch of the New England states. I truly hope they can come back. They are one of my favorite sights there and a wish to have here in our yard, but our many oaks, maples & more would never allow it. We’re losing leaves from trees too, and have one tree in Snow White’s forest with leaves changing colors since July. I sit in the Bat Cave watching the glorious changes in awe. Just the one tree… An stunning enigma this year and I wonder. Tomatoes & corn here are NOT good, and slim pickings at the farmers markets, another rarity. Hay prices here will be outrageous as the first cutting molded, some farmers & horse ranches will have to import. I worry about my Amish friends in our Northeast region and their survival over the winter. They rely entirely upon their crops and harvests to get them through the tough winters there, and with all the rain, just how much will they have? They are a community that pulls together though. We could learn so much from them.
    I read an interesting article in Rolling Stone on climate change and weather patterns. According to U Maine and SoCal as well as NOAHH and NASA climate researchers, severe climate change is upon us NOW. 98 degrees in the UK this summer where it’s unheard of, longtime drought in CA only to end with torrential/wrath of God-like rains ending in flooding rather than feeding the land, and more throughout the world. These experts go on to state that a strong El Nino pattern like never before seen is developing in the Pacific and the consequences of what this will do for winter temps here in the mid-Atlantic and East Coast may be stranger than even those seen back in the 90’s. 70 degrees in January? Again? Is it possible we’ll have no winter? What will this do to the migration patterns, or the hibernating animals? Much of the article blamed fossil-fuels, drilling, and carbon dioxide for these changes. Obviously humans are responsible for these things (other than El Nino?), so what can we do? There are solutions, but politically-motivated individuals supported by those with oil interests would pay every dime they had to not see them implemented. Shameless! Our children and grandchildren are entitled to the world we once had, not the one that exists currently.
    Today we’ll have a high of 87 degrees, and that feels so cool after the last 10 days. Sunday it was 98 and so humid. It’s odd to think that 87 is a relief, actually a normal August day in the ‘Burgh!

    Like

Leave a Reply

